DISTRICTS IN THE METROPOLITAN REGIONS

SOUTH METROPOLITAN REGION DISTRICTS

At the southern end of the South Metropolitan Region, the local government boundaries have been recognised as being more relevant to the division of districts than the boundary provided by the Kwinana Freeway. The local government boundaries in this part of the region therefore form part of the revised boundary with the East Metropolitan Region.

The South Metropolitan Region also contains 14 districts, two of which – South Perth and Victoria Park – are constrained by the Swan and Canning Rivers. The adjustments necessary in this area to ensure that elector numbers are within acceptable variations have pushed the region boundary with the East Metropolitan Region to the south and east.

The Peel Development Commission submitted that the current district of Peel, which sits outside the Peel Development Region, was not appropriately named. As foreshadowed in the proposed boundaries publication, the revised district of Peel has been renamed Warnbro. Other changes to boundaries in the South Metropolitan Region have required the determination of new and more appropriate names for some districts.

Following the objection phase, amendments were made to include the suburbs of Leeming and Riverton in the Jandakot and Riverton districts, respectively. This was enabled by amending the boundaries between the Riverton and Jandakot districts, and the Riverton and Cannington districts.

The Commissioners were persuaded by submissions to adjust the boundaries between the Fremantle and Cockburn districts to avoid splitting the Port Coogee development area. The Commissioners were also persuaded to expand the Rockingham district by moving part of the East Rockingham locality (including the Cee and See Caravan Park and Rockingham Holiday Village) from the proposed Kwinana district.

Thirty-five electors in Hamilton Hill were inadvertently allocated to Willagee rather than Fremantle in the publication of proposed boundaries on 29 June 2007. Updated figures in the table correct this minor error and reflect the final allocation.

Elector Statistics for the South Metropolitan Region Districts

District	Elector Enrolment 26/2/07	Deviation from 2007 Average District Enrolment (%)
Alfred Cove	22,827	6.92
Bateman	22,327	4.58
Cannington	22,102	3.52
Cockburn	22,550	5.62
Fremantle	22,715	6.39
Jandakot	22,435	5.08
Kwinana	21,271	-0.37
Riverton	21,989	2.99
Rockingham	21,983	2.96
South Perth	22,324	4.56
Southern River	22,234	4.14
Victoria Park	22,457	5.19
Warnbro	21,873	2.45
Willagee	22,496	5.37
Total	311,583	

Note: District names for this region have not changed from those proposed in June 2007.

