Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon
-A +A

Electoral Boundaries

Western Australia is divided into 59 electoral districts in six electoral regions.

At a State election, one member of the Legislative Assembly is elected for each district and six members of the Legislative Council are elected for each region by the electors who live in those districts and regions.

The boundaries of each electorate are determined every four years, two years after a State election. This is done to ensure that, as the number and locations of people change over time, all electorates will contain an acceptable range of electors at election time.

The process for reviewing electorates is prescribed in Part IIA of the Electoral Act 1907. For more information on this process, see the Electoral Boundary Review.

2015 Final boundaries

2015 Final Boundaries interactive (and print) maps
2015 Final Boundaries by Region and District report

Previous State electoral boundaries

2011 Boundaries (current)

2007 Boundaries

2003 Boundaries

Reviews of the State's electoral boundaries have been undertaken in Western Australia since 1902. Details of every review must be printed in the Government Gazette. State Law Publisher has an online record of Government Gazettes issued since 1906.

Federal electoral divisions

Western Australia is also divided into 16 federal electoral divisions.

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) undertakes the review of Australia’s federal electoral boundaries. For information about the federal redistribution, or about the 16 federal electoral divisions, visit the Australian Electoral Commission’s website.

Total votes: 2096